Sunday, October 2, 2022
HomeBlogWhat are the Defence Capabilities of India?

What are the Defence Capabilities of India?

- Advertisement -

The Indian Defence forces are combating the forces of India. It has three elite forces under it i.e. The Indian Navy, the Indian Army and the Indian Air force. They have additional support from Paramilitary forces and the Indian Coast guard.

The budding youth of India is passionate about joining the Indian forces and serving their nation. To fulfil their desire, they need to qualify for exams like AFCAT, NDA and CDS. Many young boys enter the armed forces by cracking the NDA exam.

Defence Capabilities

Here are the main defence capabilities of India

Every defence aspirant should have in-depth knowledge of the defence capabilities of India. For their knowledge, we have listed some major capabilities.

Since 1974, Indian forces have been in possession of nuclear weapons. The last nuclear test took place in 1998 when Operation Shakti (Pokhran-II) was started with the explosion of three fission and one fusion bombs.

The strategic nuclear command of India manages the land-based nuclear warheads. The Indian Navy handles the submarine and ships based missiles. The Indian Air force manages the air-based warheads. Nuclear warheads of India are deployed in five areas:

  • Land-based mobile. (Eg. Agni)
  • Ship-based mobile.(Eg. Dhanush)
  • Submarine based.(Eg. Sagarika)
  • Fixed underground silos.
  • Air-based warheads of India. (Eg. Dassault Mirage 2000)

India was the first country to sign Chemical Weapons Convention (CWC) stating that it will not use chemical weapons and will not manufacture them either.

The Indian Defence forces are one of the most esteemable sectors in India. One of its branches is the Indian Air Force.

- Advertisement -

These are nuclear weapons that helped Indian Defence forces in combating various attacks. Following is a list of various cruise missiles:

  • BrahMos: This is a supersonic cruise missile that was developed with the help of Russia. BrahMos is used by the Indian Army and the Indian Naval force. 
  • Nirbhay: It is a subsonic cruise missile that ranges over 1000 kilometres. 
  • Akash: It is a surface to air medium-range air defence system. Akash can target any aircraft up to a range of 30 kilometres. 
  • Shaurya: It is a hypersonic surface to the surface tactical missile that ranges over 750 kilometres. It is capable of striking targets in short distances. 

India has notified that it will use nuclear no first use policy. Moreover, it is in the process of establishing a nuclear doctrine that will be based on ‘credible minimum deterrence.

The Indian Defence forces are one of the most esteemable sectors in India. One of its branches is the Indian Air Force.


The Defence capabilities of India are stated above. From it, we can deduce that Indian defence forces are among the most efficient forces in the world.

- Advertisement -
- Advertisment -
- Advertisment -

Oldest Post

- Advertisment -

More Article

Nora Fatehi was summoned by Delhi Police in the Sukesh Chandrashekhar case

New Delhi: Delhi Police today summoned actor Nora Fatehi for questioning in the case...

Bangladesh’s team announced for T20 World Cup 2022

The ICC T20 World Cup is going to be played next month only. After...

Big mistake made in T20 World Cup team selection

T20 World Cup 2022: The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on...